Samuel J. Danishefsky

Columbia University, New York, NY 
 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Rockville Centre, NY, United States 
synthetic organic chemistry
"Samuel Danishefsky"
The 1995/6 Wolf Prize in Chemistry: Gilbert Stork and Samuel J. Danishefsky for designing and developing novel chemical reactions which have opened new avenues to the synthesis of complex molecules, particularly polysaccharides and many other biologically and medicinally important compounds.

Mean distance: 6.38


Sign in to add mentor
Peter Yates grad student 1962 Harvard
 (Rearrangements of diazo derivatives of the bicyclo (2.2.1) heptane system)
Gilbert Stork post-doc Columbia


Sign in to add trainee
David Sarlah research assistant Columbia
Philip A. Cole research assistant 1983-1984 Yale
James L. Leighton research assistant 1987 Yale
Chanan R. Reitblat research assistant 2011-2011 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Samuel Chackalamannil grad student Yale
Daniel F Harvey grad student Yale
Mark D. Bednarski grad student 1986 Yale
Tom Magee grad student 1991 Columbia
David A Griffith grad student 1987-1992 Yale
Matthew D. Shair grad student 1995 Columbia
Ohyun Kwon grad student 1998 Columbia
Alison J. Frontier grad student 1994-1999 Columbia
Bishan Zhou grad student 2001 Columbia
Tony Siu grad student 2003 Columbia
Fei Zhang grad student 2003 Columbia
Richard M. Heid grad student 2004 Columbia
Shengping Zheng grad student 2005 Columbia
Silas P. Cook grad student 2006 Columbia
Zhaoyang Meng grad student 2006 Columbia
Heedong Yun grad student 2006 Columbia
Chaomin Li grad student 2005-2006 Columbia
Benjamin Jerome Wright grad student 2008 Columbia
Mingji Dai grad student 2009 Columbia
Zhang Wang grad student 2011 Columbia
John Hartung grad student 2012 Columbia
Feng Peng grad student 2012 Columbia
Audrey Graham Ross grad student 2012 Columbia
Angie R. Angeles post-doc Columbia
Don M. Coltart post-doc Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Raymond L. Funk post-doc Yale
Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague post-doc Yale
Takeshi Kitahara post-doc
Emile J. Velthuisen post-doc
Ping Wang post-doc
Yandong Zhang post-doc Columbia
Qiang Zhang post-doc
Andrew George Roberts post-doc 2013- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Robert C. Gadwood post-doc 1978-1979 University of Pittsburgh
William H. Pearson post-doc 1984 Yale
Marco A. Ciufolini post-doc 1982-1984 Yale
Jeffrey Aube post-doc 1984-1986 Yale
James S. Panek post-doc 1984-1986 Yale
Brigitte E. Segmuller post-doc 1984-1986 Memorial Sloan-Kettering
Martin E. Maier post-doc 1985-1986 Yale
Maurizio Prato post-doc 1987 Yale
Robert S. Coleman post-doc 1987-1989 Yale
Edward Turos post-doc 1987-1989 Yale
Nobuharu Iwasawa post-doc 1989-1990 Yale
David B. Berkowitz post-doc 1990-1991 Yale
John W. Benbow post-doc 1990-1992 Yale
Frank Edward McDonald post-doc 1990-1992 Yale
Daniel Yohannes post-doc 1991-1993 Yale
Gary A. Sulikowski post-doc 1992-1994 Columbia
Jacques Yves Roberge post-doc 1993-1995 Yale University and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Pauline Chiu post-doc 1994-1995 Columbia
Xenia Beebe Searle post-doc 1994-1996 Sloan Kettering Institute
Peter H. Seeberger post-doc 1997 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Erik J. Sorensen post-doc 1995-1997 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Juan Ignacio Padron Peña post-doc 1996-1998 Columbia
Thomas R.R. Pettus post-doc 1996-1998 Columbia
Dalibor Sames post-doc 1996-1998 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Samit K Bhattacharya post-doc 1996-1999 Columbia
Masayuki Inoue post-doc 1998-2000 Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research
Dirk Trauner post-doc 1998-2000 Memorial Sloan Kettering
Gregory B. Dudley post-doc 2002 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Institute
Sherry R. Chemler post-doc 1999-2002 Sloan Kettering Institute
Derek S. Tan post-doc 2000-2002 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Alexandre Gagnon post-doc 2001-2002 Columbia
Jon Tryggvi Njardarson post-doc 2001-2004 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
J David Warren post-doc 2002-2006 Memorial Sloan Kettering
Tristan H. Lambert post-doc 2004-2006 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Qian Wan post-doc 2004-2007 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Isaac J. Krauss post-doc 2003-2008 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Gong Chen post-doc 2005-2008 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Jeremy A. May post-doc 2005-2008 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Pavel Nagorny post-doc 2007-2010 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Jianglong Zhu post-doc 2007-2010 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Jun Hee Lee post-doc 2008-2010 Columbia
Zhongping Tan post-doc 2005-2011 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Shiying Shang post-doc 2008-2011 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Karthik S. Iyer post-doc 2009-2012 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Jennifer L. Stockdill post-doc 2009-2012 Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Robin E. Grote post-doc 2010-2012 Columbia
Maciej A. Walczak post-doc 2009-2013 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Paul A. Vadola post-doc 2010-2013 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Yusuf Vohra post-doc 2010-2014 Memorial Sloan Kettering
Steven D. Townsend post-doc 2011-2014 Columbia
Ting Wang post-doc 2011-2015 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Abram Axelrod post-doc 2013-2018 Memorial Sloan Kettering
BETA: Related publications


You can help our author matching system! If you notice any publications incorrectly attributed to this author, please sign in and mark matches as correct or incorrect.

Li Y, Tran AH, Danishefsky SJ, et al. (2019) Chemical biology of glycoproteins: From chemical synthesis to biological impact. Methods in Enzymology. 621: 213-229
Brailsford JA, Stockdill JL, Axelrod AJ, et al. (2018) Total Chemical Synthesis of Human Thyroid-Stimulating Hormone (hTSH) -Subunit: Application of Arginine-tagged Acetamidomethyl (Acm) Protecting Groups. Tetrahedron. 74: 1951-1956
Rao TD, Fernández-Tejada A, Axelrod A, et al. (2017) Antibodies Against Specific MUC16 Glycosylation Sites Inhibit Ovarian Cancer Growth. Acs Chemical Biology
Levinson AM, McGee JH, Roberts AG, et al. (2017) Total Chemical Synthesis and Folding of All-L and All-D Variants of Oncogenic KRas(G12V). Journal of the American Chemical Society
O'Cearbhaill RE, Ragupathi G, Zhu J, et al. (2016) A Phase I Study of Unimolecular Pentavalent (Globo-H-GM2-sTn-TF-Tn) Immunization of Patients with Epithelial Ovarian, Fallopian Tube, or Peritoneal Cancer in First Remission. Cancers. 8
Roberts AG, Johnston EV, Shieh JH, et al. (2015) Fully Synthetic Granulocyte Colony-Stimulating Factor Enabled by Isonitrile-Mediated Coupling of Large, Side-Chain-Unprotected Peptides. Journal of the American Chemical Society. 137: 13167-75
Fernández-Tejada A, Brailsford J, Zhang Q, et al. (2015) Total synthesis of glycosylated proteins. Topics in Current Chemistry. 362: 1-26
Hartung J, J D Wright B, Danishefsky SJ. (2014) Studies toward the total synthesis of pluraflavin A. Chemistry (Weinheim An Der Bergstrasse, Germany). 20: 8731-6
Townsend SD, Ross AG, Liu K, et al. (2014) Stereospecific cis- and trans-ring fusions arising from common intermediates. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 111: 7931-5
Fernández-Tejada A, Vadola PA, Danishefsky SJ. (2014) Chemical synthesis of the β-subunit of human luteinizing (hLH) and chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) glycoprotein hormones. Journal of the American Chemical Society. 136: 8450-8
See more...