C. N. R. Rao, Ph.D

IISc Banglaore 
 1963-1976 Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India 
 1994- Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research 
solid state chemistry, surface science, chemical spectroscopy, and superconductors
"C. N. R. Rao"


Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao FRS, also known as C.N.R. Rao (born 30 June 1934), is an Indian chemist who has worked mainly in solid-state and structural chemistry. He currently serves as the Head of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India. Rao has honorary doctorates from 60 universities from around the world. He has authored around 1,500 research papers and 45 scientific books. He is the recipient of most of the major scientific awards, and is member of all major scientific organisations. On 16 November 2013, the Government of India conferred him Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, making him the third scientist after C.V.Raman and A P J Abdul Kalam to get the award.

Mean distance: 7.91


Sign in to add mentor
Mylapore Venkararama Chellappa Sastri research assistant 1953-1954 IIT Kharagpur
 (Project: adsorption of gases on catalyst surfaces)
Shridhar Sarvottam Joshi grad student 1951-1953 Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India
 (M.Sc. Joshi was his nominal supervisor.)
Robert L. Livingston grad student 1958 Purdue
 (Ph.D. Molecular Structure Investigations by Electron Diffraction)
Kenneth S. Pitzer post-doc 1958-1959 UC Berkeley


Sign in to add trainee
A. Thirumurugan grad student JNCASR
Kalya Jagannatha Rao grad student 1967 IIT Kanpur
Kashinath C. Patil grad student 1968 IIT Kanpur
Gundlapalli Venkata Subba Rao grad student 1966-1970 IIT Kanpur
Ashok Kumar Shukla grad student 1974 IIT Kanpur
Dhirendra Bahadur grad student 1977 IIT Kanpur
Suryanarayanasastry Ramasesha grad student 1977 IIT Kanpur
Subramanian Yashonath grad student 1974-1979 IISc Bangalore
Sukumaran Vasudevan grad student 1980 IIT Kanpur
Chebrolu Pulla Rao grad student 1982 IISc Bangalore
Dipankar Das Sarma grad student 1982 IISc Bangalore
Ashok Kumar Ganguli grad student 1990 IISc Bangalore
G. Ranga Rao grad student 1990 IISc Bangalore
Thalappil Pradeep grad student 1986-1991 IISc Bangalore
Giridhar U. Kulkarni grad student 1992 IISc Bangalore
Rajamani Nagarajan grad student 1987-1993 IISc Bangalore
Ram Seshadri grad student 1990-1995 IISc Bangalore
Vinod C. Prabhakaran grad student 1995-2001 JNCASR
Ramanathan Vaidhyanathan grad student 1997-2003 Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
Amitava Choudhury grad student 1998-2003 JNCASR
Manashi Nath grad student 2004 IISc Bangalore
Gautam Gundiah grad student 1998-2005 Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India
Ujjal K. Gautam grad student 2006 IISc Bangalore
Leonard Deepak Francis grad student 2000-2006 Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India
Jogendra Nath Behera grad student 2002-2007 IISc Bangalore
SRC Vivekchand grad student 2004-2009 JNCASR
Kanishka Biswas grad student 2006-2009 Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
Rakesh Voggu grad student 2005-2010 JNCASR
Kalyan Raidongia grad student 2006-2011 Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
Leela Srinivas Panchakarla grad student 2008-2011 JNCASR
Urmimala Maitra grad student 2010-2014 JNCASR
Birinchi Kumar Das post-doc 1992 IISc Bangalore
Muthusamy Eswaramoorthy post-doc 1996-1999 JNCASR
Angshuman Nag post-doc 2009-2010 IISc Bangalore
C. Mallaiah Nagaraja post-doc 2008-2011 JNCASR
Kolleboyina Jayaramulu post-doc 2014-2014 JNCASR
Pratap Vishnoi post-doc 2016-2019 JNCASR
BETA: Related publications


You can help our author matching system! If you notice any publications incorrectly attributed to this author, please sign in and mark matches as correct or incorrect.

Rajamathi CR, Gupta U, Kumar N, et al. (2021) Weyl Semimetals as Hydrogen Evolution Catalysts. Advanced Materials (Deerfield Beach, Fla.). 33: e2103730
Shanbhag PN, Biswas RK, Pati SK, et al. (2020) Elusive CoO: A Combined Experimental and Theoretical Study. Acs Omega. 5: 29009-29016
Chithaiah P, Raju MM, Kulkarni GU, et al. (2020) Simple synthesis of nanosheets of rGO and nitrogenated rGO. Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology. 11: 68-75
Roy A, Singh A, Aravindh SA, et al. (2020) Effect of Mn2+ substitution on the structure, properties and HER activity of cadmium phosphochlorides Rsc Advances. 10: 5134-5145
Rao CNR. (2020) P W Anderson (1923–2020): A Tribute Resonance. 25: 615-616
Kaur M, Chhetri M, Rao CNR. (2019) Photoelectrochemical OER activity by employing BiVO with manganese oxide co-catalysts. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics : Pccp
Rao CNR. (2019) Foreword: CRSI Special Issue. Chemistry, An Asian Journal
Arachchige KSA, Fahrenhorst-Jones T, Burns JM, et al. (2019) 1,4-Diazacubane crystal structure rectified as piperazinium. Chemical Communications (Cambridge, England)
Narula A, Rao CP. (2019) Hydrogel of the Supramolecular Complex of Graphene Oxide and Sulfonatocalix[4]arene as Reusable Material for the Degradation of Organic Dyes: Demonstration of Adsorption and Degradation by Spectroscopy and Microscopy. Acs Omega. 4: 5731-5740
Narkhede N, Uttam B, Rao CP. (2019) Calixarene-Assisted Pd Nanoparticles in Organic Transformations: Synthesis, Characterization, and Catalytic Applications in Water for C-C Coupling and for the Reduction of Nitroaromatics and Organic Dyes. Acs Omega. 4: 4908-4917
See more...