Ernest Rutherford

University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England, United Kingdom 
Atomic Structure
"Ernest Rutherford"

(1871 - 1937)
Discovered orbital nature of the atom
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1908 was awarded to Ernest Rutherford "for his investigations into the disintegration of the elements, and the chemistry of radioactive substances".

Mean distance: 8.51 (cluster 12)
Cross-listing: Chemistry Tree


Sign in to add trainee
James Chadwick research assistant 1913 University of Manchester
Henry Gwyn Jeffreys Moseley research assistant 1910-1914 University of Manchester
Maria Goeppert-Mayer research assistant 1928 Cambridge
Mark LE Oliphant grad student Cambridge University
Richard Daniel Kleeman grad student 1905-1908 Cambridge
Joseph Alexander Gray grad student 1909-1912 University of Manchester
Edward Victor Appleton grad student 1910-1913 Cambridge
Ralph H. Fowler grad student 1919 Cambridge
Alexander Leicester McAulay grad student 1921 University of Manchester (Chemistry Tree)
Henry DeWolf Smyth grad student 1923 Cambridge
Allie Vibert Douglas grad student 1921-1923 Cavendish Lab, Cambridge University
Patrick M.S. Blackett grad student 1924 Cambridge
Charles Drummond Ellis grad student 1924 Cambridge
Edmund Clifton Stoner grad student 1921-1924 Cambridge
Leslie Fleetwood Bates grad student 1922-1924 Cambridge (Chemistry Tree)
Leslie H. Martin grad student 1926 Cambridge
Douglas R. Hartree grad student 1921-1926 Cambridge
Herbert Wakefield Banks Skinner grad student 1927 Cambridge
William Alfred Wooster grad student 1927 Cambridge
Cecil Frank Powell grad student 1925-1927 Cavendish Lab
John Douglas Cockcroft grad student 1924-1928 Cambridge
Norman Feather grad student 1931 Cambridge
Philip Burton Moon grad student 1931 Cambridge
Ernest T.S. Walton grad student 1931 Cambridge
D. S. Kothari grad student 1933 Cavendish Lab
David Shoenberg grad student 1935 Cambridge University
William Ernest Bennett grad student 1937 Cambridge
Cormac O’Ceallaigh grad student 1935-1938 Cambridge
Samuel Devons grad student 1939 Cambridge
Kazimierz Fajans post-doc 1911 University of Manchester (Chemistry Tree)
Niels Bohr post-doc 1912 University of Manchester
Alexander Stuart Russell post-doc 1912 University of Manchester
Edward N. Da C. Andrade post-doc 1914 University of Manchester
George Gamow post-doc 1929-1929 Cambridge
Thomas Edward Allibone post-doc 1926-1930 Cambridge
Kenneth T. Bainbridge post-doc 1933-1934 Cambridge
Arthur K. Solomon post-doc 1937 Cambridge (Chemistry Tree)
Pyotr Kapitsa research scientist Cambridge
Frederick Soddy research scientist 1900-1902 McGill (Chemistry Tree)
H. Lester Cooke research scientist 1903 McGill
Arthur Stewart Eve research scientist 1903-1907 McGill (Crystallography Tree)
Hans Geiger research scientist 1906-1912 University of Manchester
BETA: Related publications


You can help our author matching system! If you notice any publications incorrectly attributed to this author, please sign in and mark matches as correct or incorrect.

Rutherford E. (1929) HIGH FREQUENCY RADIATION OF THE X-RAY TYPE. Science (New York, N.Y.). 69: 259-63
Rutherford E. (1925) STUDIES OF ATOMIC NUCLEI. Science (New York, N.Y.). 62: 209-11
See more...