IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

Name Area Department Start Year Stop Year Advisor
Phaedon Avouris
Jerry BernholcCondensed Matter Physics, Analytical Chemistry, Molecular Chemistry1977 Sokrates T. Pantelides (grad student)
Walter E. BronCondensed matter physics
Praveen Chaudhariamorphous magnetic materials-that are the basis of erasable, read-write, optical storage technology
Joseph Edward Demuth
Gerald J. DolanCondensed matter physics
Dean Eric EastmanCondensed Matter Physics
Leo Esakisolid-state physics
Martin van Exterexperimental physics and optics Daniel R. Grischkowsky (post-doc)
Frank Fu FangSemiconductor Physics
Richard L. Garwin
Tayfun Gokmenphysics of semiconductors David Mitzi (post-doc)
Martin C. GutzwillerTheoretical physics
Naomi J. HalasNanoengineering, Plasmonics, Nanophotonics1986 Daniel R. Grischkowsky (grad student)
Tobias HertelPhysical Chemistry, Condensed Matter Physics, Optics Physics, Nanomaterials, Carbon Nanotubes, Ultrafast Spectroscopy19961998 Phaedon Avouris (post-doc)
Franz J. HimpselMolecular Physics19771980 Dean Eric Eastman (post-doc)
Soren Keiding Daniel R. Grischkowsky (post-doc)
John Robert Kirtleycondensed matter physics, high temperature superconductivity
Rolf William LandauerCondensed Matter Physics
Norton David Langelectron gas and molecular electronics
Ralph LinskerNeuroscience, neural networks
Benoît B. Mandelbrotmathematics, fractals, economics, information theory, fluid dynamics
James Cleary McGroddysolid state physics
David McKay
Bernard S. Meyerson
Emanuel R. Piore
Myriam P. SarachikCondensed Matter Physics, Molecular Physics, Electricity and Magnetism Physics1961 Richard L. Garwin (post-doc)
Matthias Scheffler Sokrates T. Pantelides (post-doc)
Phillip J. Stilesexperimental solid state physics
Jerry D Tersofftheory of nanowire growth and nanoscale effects in heteroepitaxy
Rudolf M Tromptructure and growth of surfaces and interfaces, surface phase transitions, modifications of crystal growth by organic and inorganic monolayers ('surfactants'), and the development of novel experimental techniques and methods
Chang-chyi TsueiCondensed matter physics
Theodore J. Yoder