K. Barry Sharpless

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, United States 
 Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, La Jolla, CA, United States 
Click chemistry
"K. Barry Sharpless"

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2001 was divided, one half jointly to William S. Knowles and Ryoji Noyori "for their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions" and the other half to K. Barry Sharpless "for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions".
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 was awarded jointly to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless "for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry".
(Show more)

Mean distance: 6.5


Sign in to add mentor
Thomas A. Spencer research assistant 1963 Dartmouth
Eugene van Tamelen grad student 1968 Stanford
 (Studies of the mechanism of action of 2,3-oxidosqualenelanosterol cyclase featuring enzymic cyclization of modified squalene oxides.)
James Paddock Collman post-doc 1968 Stanford
Konrad Bloch post-doc 1969 Harvard


Sign in to add trainee
John-Stephen A. Taylor research assistant 1972-1976 MIT
Gregory C. Fu research assistant 1985 MIT
Jiajia Dong research assistant 2009-2015 Scripps Institute
Qinheng Zheng grad student 2014- Scripps Institute
Gencheng Li grad student 2016- Scripps Institute
M.G. Finn grad student 1986 MIT
Janice Klunder grad student 1987 MIT
Paul R. Carlier grad student 1983-1988 MIT
Remi Chauvin grad student 1988-1990 Scripps Institute
Guigen Li grad student 1995-1997 Scripps Institute
Jay P. Chiang grad student 2000 Scripps Institute
David S. Nirschl grad student 2000 Scripps Institute
Allen A. Thomas grad student 2000 Scripps Institute
Zachary P. Demko grad student 2002 Scripps Institute
Antonella Converso grad student 2003 Scripps Institute
Steven M. Silverman grad student 2002-2004 Scripps Institute
Timothy R. Chan grad student 2005 Scripps Institute
Peng Wu grad student 2005 Scripps Institute
Alina K. Feldman grad student 2006 Scripps Institute
David Berrisford post-doc MIT
benoit colasson post-doc TSRI
Christophe Coperet post-doc Scripps Institute
S. Bruce King post-doc Scripps Institute
Albert W. M. Lee post-doc MIT
Jie P. Li post-doc
Stefan Loren post-doc Scripps Institute
Koichiro Oshima post-doc MIT
Boris Schmidt post-doc (Microtree)
Jonathan C. Tripp post-doc Scripps Institute
Bharat Kumar Allam post-doc 2019- Scripps Institute
Jan-Erling Bäckvall post-doc 1976-1977 MIT
Lanny S. Liebeskind post-doc 1978 Stanford
Eric N. Jacobsen post-doc 1986-1988 MIT
Carsten Bolm post-doc 1987-1988
István E. Markó post-doc 1987-1988 MIT and Harvard
Matthias Beller post-doc 1990 MIT
Jens Hartung post-doc 1990-1991 MIT
Davit Zargarian post-doc 1992 Scripps Institute
Hartmuth C. Kolb post-doc 1993 Scripps Institute
Pher G. Andersson post-doc 1992-1993 Scripps Institute
Per-Ola Norrby post-doc 1992-1993 Scripps Institute
Patrick J. Walsh post-doc 1991-1994 Scripps Institute
Dominic V. McGrath post-doc 1992-1994 Scripps Institute
Michael S. VanNieuwenhze post-doc 1992-1994 Scripps Institute
Alexander S.S. Dömling post-doc 1994-1995 Scripps Institute
Andrei K. Yudin post-doc 1998 Scripps Institute
Erland P. Stevens post-doc 1997-1998 Scripps Institute
Valery V. Fokin post-doc 1998-2001 Scripps Institute
Robert Hilgraf post-doc 2001-2001 Scripps Institute
Roman Manetsch post-doc 2002-2005 Scripps Institute
Michael P. Cassidy post-doc 2004-2006 The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA
Carlos A. Valdez post-doc 2006-2008 Scripps Institute
Jason E. Hein post-doc 2005-2009 The Scripps Research Institute, California, USA
Suhua Li post-doc 2014-2017 Scripps Institute
Zilei Liu post-doc 2016-2021
Hua-Li Qin research scientist Scripps Institute


Sign in to add collaborator
Flavio Grynszpan collaborator 2000-2002 Scripps Institute
BETA: Related publications


You can help our author matching system! If you notice any publications incorrectly attributed to this author, please sign in and mark matches as correct or incorrect.

Yang B, Sukheja P, Qin B, et al. (2023) Synthesis and structure-activity relationships of aryl fluorosulfate-based inhibitors as novel antitubercular agents. Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters. 98: 129596
Li H, Chang BS, Kim H, et al. (2023) High-performing polysulfate dielectrics for electrostatic energy storage under harsh conditions. Joule. 7: 95-111
Xin Y, Liu S, Liu Y, et al. (2023) Affinity selection of double-click triazole libraries for rapid discovery of allosteric modulators for GLP-1 receptor. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 120: e2220767120
Cheng Y, Li G, Smedley CJ, et al. (2022) Diversity oriented clicking delivers β-substituted alkenyl sulfonyl fluorides as covalent human neutrophil elastase inhibitors. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 119: e2208540119
Kim H, Zhao J, Bae J, et al. (2021) Chain-Growth Sulfur(VI) Fluoride Exchange Polycondensation: Molecular Weight Control and Synthesis of Degradable Polysulfates. Acs Central Science. 7: 1919-1928
Li S, Li G, Gao B, et al. (2021) SuFExable polymers with helical structures derived from thionyl tetrafluoride. Nature Chemistry
Dong J, Sharpless KB, Gao B, et al. (2021) Fluorosulfuryl Isocyanate Enabled SuFEx Ligation of Alcohols and Amines. Angewandte Chemie (International Ed. in English)
Zhang J, Zhao X, Cappiello JR, et al. (2021) Identification of simple arylfluorosulfates as potent agents against resistant bacteria. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. 118
Garnar-Wortzel L, Bishop TR, Kitamura S, et al. (2021) Chemical Inhibition of ENL/AF9 YEATS Domains in Acute Leukemia. Acs Central Science. 7: 815-830
Zheng Q, Xu H, Wang H, et al. (2021) Sulfur [F]Fluoride Exchange Click Chemistry Enabled Ultrafast Late-Stage Radiosynthesis. Journal of the American Chemical Society
See more...